GLOBAL SHUFFLE FORUM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Methodology

2 posters

Go down

Methodology Empty Methodology

Post by Garry Fri 09 Mar 2012, 12:43

Methodology.
What sorts of methods do you use to practice ?

It's not like it's homework to shuffle. It's something you want to do, it's a passion.

But after a while you need something else, some reason to keep going especially when you have lots of other stuff going on in your life.

I've been a professional artist since my teens. It's totally self initiated. Nobody makes me spend 20 years filming unknown and obscure underground people hoping one day, others may be interested.

In the oldskool nobody paid any attention to dance and dancers, except the dancers themselves. It was wall to wall Dj egos for nearly a decade and shufflers being dragged off the dance floor to make room for more drunks. Even for the past 5 years I've been hammering all the local Melbourne guys telling them the shuffle is the next big thing ... you could hear them snikker - silly ol bugger's lost it. hehe

But they weren't the reason I was doing this. They were not my guides.

I had a plan and it was based on a personal method I'd developed over 25 years when shuffling began early 1990's. You have no idea the amount of trouble I caused by NOT filming the main act, instead filming a bunch of people in the crowd or turning the camera on the tech staff, tracing cables and checking line connections, not the star/s on the TV broadcast.

My method was to film what intereted me, ME in particular. I knew what I liked, but I didn't let that be the total of my method. I'd check it against standards, such as Ok I'm interested and filming, but I'm getting bored in 10 seconds, so should I continue ? Why should I and what am I looking for, or expecting may happen.